The Horizon: Where Everything Never Ends, Never Begins. (Part two)

I was never afraid of heights. Except for that one time when I was; wait, no, that’s another story. Today is the last day of school. I cannot be happier. It’s time to enjoy the sunset from my window. I had asked my mother to buy me a new chair. I needed something more beautiful to match my dreaming table. I wanted something as purple as the sky when it was about to leave but I didn’t find the right purple. Though the salesman swore to me it was the same color, I knew that it was not. I was there. I held the color of the clouds in my hands. I have seen it closely and I am pretty sure no one has ever been that close to a purple cloud. To a purple sky. I felt the color with my bare hands.

 

“You are a special kid,” said my grandmother while covering me with her scarf last time I saw her. “Grandma, where did you get this scarf from?” I asked as I gazed at her what was left of golden hair, and what was left of her free of wrinkles cheeks. Her wrinkles always drew a smile on her forehead and few spots of her face. One day we decided to count them. I suggested that we would give them names. But grandma laughed so hard that I wanted to pretend I never said that. I was seven years old back then. Today, I turn 16. Finally! They say when you make a wish on your sixteenth birthday, it comes true. First let me introduce myself; my name is Tiara. I was never daddy’s girl, or mommy’s spoiled kid, but I was always, always my grandma’s favorite.

 

You can’t really describe an intimate relationship even if you find the right words. They just won’t serve you well. It’s time to visit the Horizon one more time. I have been going there since I was five. I have always seen something hiding behind it but I was always a tap or two behind. I could never get there on time to see what was hidden. But I am alright. I know, I believe I will be able to see it when the right time comes.

 

“It was a successful meeting,” My mother calmly commented after my father asked. “What happened?” My father carefully looked at me anticipating any coming storm. Tornado. “She answered most of the questions correctly.” I really never understood why we had to go to that meeting but it seemed very important to both of them. I don’t know why my dad expected me to be mad at either of them. The only reason why I wanted time to pass was because I didn’t want to be late. I had promised it to be there early that day. I wasn’t, though. I got to my table late, I was three taps behind and when I got there, it was already gone. “Until tomorrow, my friend. We shall meet tomorrow, I promise. This time I will keep it. I promise.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

